Buster’s Sea Cove

Buster's Sea Cove
Buster’s Sea Cove

All last summer, I was craving lobster rolls. This is strange as I don’t really recall ever having one before (or I did and it was not very memorable). Unfortunately, the only one I ended up having was the one from McDonald’s, which tasted like a lobster-shaped mayo sandwich.

Buster’s Sea Cove
Location: St. Lawrence Market
93 Front St E
Toronto, ON
M5E 1C3
Hours: Closed Sundays and Mondays!
Tuesday to Thursday: 8am to 6pm
Friday: 8am to 7pm
Saturday: 7am to 5pm
Price: $$
Atmosphere: Loud, crowded

I have been wanting to try Buster’s Sea Cove for over a year now. Their food truck had always eclipsed me, but it was their market location that I really wanted to go to (seeing as the lobster combo was the same price, but comes with only a bag of chips from the truck). Unfortunately, as you can see from their hours, it is hard to coordinate a time to go (and I am actually hungry). Last weekend, I finally got the chance to try it, and here are my thoughts.

As there is hardly any seating space, coupled with the fact that we chose to go on a Saturday morning, the market was packed. Luckily it stopped raining, so we sat on the soggy picnic benches on the balcony outside the market.

Now onto the food: this is a tiny sandwich. Even with all the reviews I read telling me so, I did not expect it to be quite this small. Think a slice of bread (Wonder Bread size), folded in half, with lobster crammed between, and that is the size of their lobster roll.

The combo comes with a choice of salad or fries (both pictured above), a heaping of coleslaw, a wedge of lemon, and a large quarter of a pickle.

Lobster Roll Combo, $15
Lobster Roll Combo, $15

The taste of the lobster is definitely there; sitting outside made the bread harden faster than I would have liked, but the bread used still had room for improvement. The coleslaw was average, not very flavourful but also not unpleasant. I dislike pickles but my friend had one and was not impressed. The salad was nice and fresh, but nothing special. The fries seemed a bit brown (oil may need to be replaced?) but tasted alright, though it was obvious it was sitting out of the fryer for awhile.

Buster’s Sea Cove is worth a try; their food is fresh enough though the sizing may leave you wandering the market in search of more food. I will likely be back to try other items on their menu, but for now, my year-long lobster roll craving has been satisfied.

Buster's Sea Cove on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

