Little Nicky’s Coffee

Mini donuts and London fog
Mini donuts and London fog

I have passed by the Little Nicky’s sign a few times, but  was always when I was in a rush. Finally, I had the chance to stop by with my sister a few days ago for a quick pick-me-up. Hidden away along Peter St (their address is a bit tricky), it is a great place for a drink and a light snack.

Little Nicky’s Coffee
Location: 375 Queen St W
Toronto, ON
M5V 2A4 
Hours: Closed Sundays
Monday to Friday: 7:30am to 6pm
Saturday: 9:30am to 6pm
Price¢
Atmosphere: Casual, good for chatting with friends
Service: Relaxed

I feel odd talking about coffee shops because I’m not a coffee person; surprisingly they make me sleepy or just give me headaches. Just can’t handle caffeine! I do love a good tea latte, however, so Little Nicky’s had me covered. They have a list of coffees, teas, hot chocolates, and cold drink options, along with an assortment of baked goods.

I chose the London Fog for $4 and my sister recommended that we get some of their mini donuts (doughnuts!) to share. We got a dozen for less than $5, and waited for them to be made. They have a donut machine that cranks them out as they are ordered to ensure their freshness. After watching them struggle with it for awhile, donuts started coming out on the conveyor belt, and the barista tossed them with a cinnamon-sugar mix.

IMAG8988
Inside the mini donuts

They come to you piping hot and smelling heavenly. They resemble cake donuts in texture, except they are soft and pillowy, and somehow avoid feeling heavy. This is dangerous as I could easily eat a dozen without feeling full (and greasy). The size is comparable to Tiny Toms donuts that are at exhibitions and fairs.

The London Fog was light and comforting, and lightly sweetened. I would have preferred a stronger tea flavour, but one thing I definitely appreciated was the taste of the foam. As a rule of thumb I dislike foam, but somehow this drink had a thin enough layer to distinguish itself as a latte without overpowering the initial first sips. Overall it was a good change from the overly sweet ones at other coffee chains.

IMAG8987
The counter; white bowl on the right is where the donut magic happens

The drinks are good, but the real star are the donuts. Don’t expect super quick service a la Tim Hortons, but a more relaxed vibe for when you want to take it slow.

Little Nicky's Coffee on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

