Overnight Oats and Chia Seed Pudding

I’m not a breakfast person. For most of my life (and still continuing), I skipped breakfast. I know there are a million reasons why you shouldn’t, but breakfast foods were so boring and repetitive to me. In addition, I never felt hungry in the morning, and sitting down in the morning to enjoy breakfast was the last thing I wanted to do while pressed for time.

oats and chia breakfast

That being said, I actually enjoy this breakfast, and it touches on all my concerns listed above. This is a quick recipe that is simple to make, delicious, and will provide you with enough energy to get through the morning.

This breakfast has converted me, an oatmeal and breakfast-hater, to embrace oatmeal as my morning meal. The thing that always turned me off oatmeal was the somewhat warm, gloopy texture somewhat reminiscent to spit… Apologies for the terrible imagery. However, this oatmeal has none of that! It’s creamy and flavourful, and all you really need is milk, oats and/or chia seeds; anything else you add to it just brings it to a new level.

I love my mason jar mug :)
I love my mason jar mug :)

For one serving, all you essentially need is milk (cow, almond, soy, lactose-free, whatever you fancy) and oats and/or chia seeds. The milk and oats/seeds ratio really depends on your preference. If you’re using rolled oats, equal parts oats and milk would be fine. What I love most about this is that the oats don’t get all mushy and still retain their shape. If you’re using steel cut, you may want more milk and to precook the oats or else they will still remain pretty chewy. Chia seeds need about double the liquid since they will soak up the majority of it.

Make sure to stir!
Make sure to stir!

For one serving:
1 tablespoon of chia seeds
1/2 tablespoon of oats (rolled or steel cut)
2-3 tablespoons of milk
2 tablespoons of yogurt (if you prefer it thicker)

Optional
Fruit, nuts, and nut butters as topping (my favourites are blueberries, walnuts, goji berries, cashew/almond butter, flax seeds)
Sweetener (I enjoy using a 1/2 teaspoon of honey)

Finished and ready to eat
Finished and ready to refrigerate

Feel free to add the toppings before or after refrigerating. If you are pressed for time, I would recommend adding them the night before, but make sure to add them on top, as some fruit may make the consistency too watery when mixed in.

My personal favourites to add are  a mix of berries, mango, banana, and some almond-cashew butter. I usually use a sweetened yogurt, which combined with the fruit, give enough dimension that you wouldn’t require a sweetener.

There is really no strict rules for this, just play around with the measurements until you have the desired consistency. It’s a great meal to fuel studying, and is a breeze to prepare.

jar
After spending a night in the fridge
2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats and Chia Seed Pudding

Leave a Reply

