Bang Bang Ice Cream and Bakery

IMG_20140913_152918

My friend took us to Bang Bang Ice Cream and Bakery for some late summer ice cream sandwiches. It was warm enough that day to enjoy cold treats, and we all ended up getting a full ice cream cookie sandwich.

Bang Bang Ice Cream & Bakery
Location: 93 1/2 Ossington Ave
Toronto, ON
M6J 2Z4
Hours: Tuesday to Thursday: 2pm to 11pm
Friday: 2pm to 12am
Saturday: 12pm to 12am
Sunday: 12pm to 11pm
Price: $
Atmosphere: To-go order counter
Service: Efficient

The shop front looks pretty inconspicuous and the only sign is the one in the window. It is a cute little shop, and though very bare bones, it has all you could possibly want on a summer day.

The shop is pretty small itself and there was a small line in front of us. They have all the ice cream flavours available that day listed on the wall, and the counter is where all their cookies are on display. When you order, they scoop 4-5 spoons of ice cream into a round container, then sandwich it with the cookie of your choice.

Cookie counter
Cookie counter

I got the below combination and it was a perfect combination. I will disclose first that my favourite chocolate has got to be the Terry’s chocolate oranges, so orange + chocolate is something I knew I would love. The cookie by itself is actually quite bitter (70% cocoa) for my tastes but paired with the sweet ice cream it was delicious. I would definitely get the ice cream again on its own, but after all the ice cream melted, the cookie was too bitter for me to eat on its own.

Orange cardamom ice cream in a chocolate cookie
Orange cardamom ice cream in a chocolate cookie

My friends got the burnt toffee with oatmeal cookie (I found both ice cream and cookie to be mediocre) while my other friend got the London Fog with a ginger cookie. The London Fog ice cream was good, with the flavour really apparent, while the ginger cookie was very sweet.

Give it a try, but I recommend sharing a whole sandwich ($7.91)…  none of us finished ours. Or just ice cream. So good.

IMAG1386

Bang Bang Ice Cream on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Bang Bang Ice Cream and Bakery

  1. The london fog ice cream was so good!! I want more. I miss Toronto and its vast food selection. :'(
    On a related note, I ran out of earl grey tea… send help.

Leave a Reply

