Mei Nung Beef Noodle House

Beef noodle soup
Beef noodle soup

Being a little under the weather and craving noodles, we went to Mei Nung Beef Noodle House as it was universally the highest recommended noodle place in the area. The outside features a very plain white sign, and upon walking towards it, the smell of the shop is wafting through towards you…

Mei Nung Beef Noodle House
Location:
3255 Highway 7 E, Unit 15
Markham, ON
L3R 3P6
Hours: Closed on Tuesdays
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday: 11:30am to 10pm
Friday: 11:30am to 10:30pm
Saturday: 11am to 10:30pm
Sunday: 11am to 10pm
Price: $
Atmosphere: Crowded
Service: Efficient

That is, the smell of stinky tofu.

We ordered the beef noodle soup and the noodles with the fried bean sauce, also known as cha cheung mein, which is one of my personal favourite dishes. We also decided to try the stinky tofu, as I’ve only had it once or twice before at food markets when I was younger. I’ve always wanted to try it at events such as Night It Up, but the lines were always ridiculous. I love food but I also hate wasting time in line.

Stinky tofu
Stinky tofu

The stinky tofu came freshly fried and very crisp, with the sauce drizzled all over it. I can’t say I loved it, the (stinky) sauce wasn’t what bothered me, but rather how tough the tofu skin was. I prefer crispy exteriors that are thin and don’t require quite so much chewing, and I didn’t want to eat more than a few pieces. I know a lot of people enjoy it, but it’s just not the dish for me.

The noodles were delicious; the beef noodle soup is definitely great comfort food, with tender beef and chewy noodles in a flavourful broth.

Noodle with fried bean sauce
Noodle with fried bean sauce

The noodles with the fried bean sauce were a bit of a disappointment. I definitely like the sauce to be thick, and for there to be a lot of it. The sauce was both thin and there wasn’t very much of it, and if it weren’t for the noodles, it would have been a very mediocre dish.

While the food is good for the price point, the atmosphere leaves much to be desired. It’s really stuffy and humid in there, and yes, the smell of stinky tofu is extremely overpowering. There is guaranteed to be at least one table with that order, so prepare for the smell to be up close and personal. I think if I went again, I would prefer to get take-out.

Mei Nung Beef Noodle House on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Mei Nung Beef Noodle House

Leave a Reply

