De Fu Seafood Restaurant

Molten egg custard bun
Molten egg custard bun

Do you like lau sha bao/flowing custard buns/salted egg custard buns/流沙包? If so, this is the place to go.

De Fu Seafood Restaurant / 德福海鮮酒家
Location: 633 Silver Star Blvd, Unit 102
Scarborough, ON
M1V 5N1
Phone: (416) 293-2979
Price: $$
Atmosphere: Cramped, loud
Service: Efficient

I’ve been here several times with my family, as it is one of our go-to places for dim sum. They offer a variety of vegetarians options as well, which are among some of my favourite dishes here.

Chiu Chow dumplings
Chiu Chow dumplings

I had my first Chiu Chow dumpling here, and I still count it as one of my favourites. With a thicker skin than most dumplings, they are filled with a variety of ingredients, but my favourite is the pork and jiacama/water chestnuts.

Midsection of above dumpling
Midsection of above dumpling

Cheung fun. I love the one with pea sprouts (dau miu).

IMAG2482

Now on to the star of the show; you cannot simply come here without ordering their salted custard buns (pictured at the top of the post). They come freshly steamed, and if you take a bite right away, the filling inside can burn your tongue. I would suggest taking small bites to avoid this, and be careful as it easily leaks over the sides. The texture of salted egg custard buns are supposed to be grainy, but this one manages to escape lumps and tastes best while hot as the inside is still liquid.

Come here for affordable dim sum of a decent caliber. Nothing is prepared fancy but I’ve never had a bad dish here.

De Fu Seafood Restaurant on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “De Fu Seafood Restaurant

Leave a Reply

