Planning Holiday Dinners

It’s exam season for us students, and instead of studiously preparing for them, I’ve been tempted to look at recipes for upcoming holiday potlucks and dinners. I have compiled a mini list of the recipes I plan to try this year, and if any of them are a success, I’ll be sure to share my results.

Last years dangerous but breath-taking ice storm
Last years dangerous but breath-taking ice storm

I want to try my hand at making mulled wine this season, and boiling off (most of) the alcohol in the wine seems ideal for lightweights such as I, as well as driver-friendly. Ina Garten has a great recipe that I definitely want to try this season; only problem is I have no idea what makes a wine ‘good’, so choosing one will be tricky.

Mulled Wine Recipe via Ina Garten

Last years spread with my friends
Last years spread with my friends

A few other things I’m excited to try are spinach and artichoke dips – I’ve made them before but never completely by myself. I’m debating just getting spinach and blanching it myself, as frozen veggies also seem less delicious and also not worth the money to me. Squeezing out the water is probably my least favourite part, though.

Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip via Alton Brown

Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip via Closet Cooking

Our colourful tree! I love bokeh
Our colourful tree! I love bokeh

Mac and cheese without cheese? Is it blasphemy or is it just healthier? With my sister being a vegetarian, I’ve grown up eating meat and meat substitutes, and I don’t mind trying new things. I’ve heard of cashew ‘cheese’, but I found a recipe that makes it out of eggplant, which sounds a lot lighter than cheese or cashews.

Vegan Caramelized Onion Mac and Cheese via Minimalist Baker

What are you planning to make for the holidays?

Leave a Reply

