Tennessy Willems

IMG_20150627_233520
Wild Boar

I am no cyclist. I only learned to ride a bike about two years ago, and I still wobble terribly and fall off randomly. That being said, when I went to visit my friend in Ottawa, we decided to do some cycling… for over five hours. So it is with a hungry and bruised soul that I entered in Tennessy Willems for some well-deserved pizza.

Tennessy Willems Wood Oven Pizza
Location: 1082 Wellington St W
Ottawa, ON
K1Y 2Y4
Hours: Monday to Wednesday: 11:30am to 10pm
Thursday to Saturday: 11:30am to 10:30pm
Sunday: 4pm to 10pm
Price: $$
Atmosphere: Cozy
Service: Efficient

We were a party of five, and were recommended to get 3 pizzas. Thus, we decided on the Wild Boar ($20), Capricciosa ($16), and the Chorizo ($16).

All the pizzas had a crispy thin crust, but the middle was a bit soggy and made it hard to hold. I personally like a bit of a softer crust, so I didn’t mind this much, but it did make for messy eating.

The Chorizo
The Chorizo

My favourite was definitely the Chorizo, which had caramelized onions, chorizo sausage, and goat cheese, for it taste and texture. I found the wild boar one (wild boar sausage, caramelized apples, sage oil and cheddar) to be a bit too oily, with nothing to really cut the taste of the grease. The Capricciosa (fire-roasted tomato sauce, fior di latte, cremini mushrooms, artichokes, olives, and capicola ham) was a good all-around pizza but nothing too special.

Capricciosa
Capricciosa

Tennessy Willems states that they support local farming and try to get local produce when possible. I would definitely be back if I were ever in the area, and it did give me some more energy to continue cycling…

Click to add a blog post for Tennessy Willems on Zomato

Leave a Reply

