Ramen Isshin

Chicken tan tan with black sesame
Chicken tan tan with black sesame

I first heard of Ramen Isshin on Instagram, and when Yuki from pekopekofoodie hosted a giveaway, I entered and managed to win a free meal here. So I brought my friend and we made the trek to Bathurst and College for some ramen.

Ramen Isshin
Location: 421 College Street
Toronto, ON
M5T 1T1
Hours: Sunday to Thursday: 11:30am to 10pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:30am to 11pm
Price: $$
Atmosphere: Comfortable, roomy
Service: Friendly

I ordered the lemon shio vegetarian ramen, seeing as it was a hot day and it was a seasonal special. My friend ordered the chicken tan tan ramen, and we shared the takoyaki and chicken kaarage appetizers.

IMG_20150813_094517
Chicken karaage and takoyaki

The takoyaki was probably one of my favourites, as it comes piping hot, well-cooked, and with two pieces of octopus.

The chicken kaarage was battered thicker than I prefer, but the seasoning is unlike any I’ve ever had before and complimented it well.

Lemon shio vegetarian ramen and chicken tan tan
Lemon shio vegetarian ramen and chicken tan tan

The ramen was delicious – I loved the thick twisty noodles, and the tartness of the lemon shio broth was both satisfying and refreshing.

For dessert, we got the black sesame and green tea ice cream mochi – these were delicious with very flavourful ice cream wrapped with a thin layer of chewy mochi.

After coming here, I recommended this place to my vegetarian sister, seeing as she rarely is able to have ramen, and she went about two days later and also loved it.

IMG_20150905_094210
Red miso ramen

My other friends knew about my win and after seeing our photos, also wanted to try out Ramen Isshin. So once again we made the trek there again and this time I tried the red miso ramen. I must say I actually found the vegetarian ramen more satisfying – the slices of pork were very thin and there were so many bean sprouts that they overwhelmed the noodles. However, the broth of every ramen I’ve tried there has not disappointed, as it is flavourful without being too rich.

White sesame shio
White sesame shio

They have a lunch deal from Monday to Thursday; $11.75 gets you a bowl of ramen, an appetizer, and a can of pop. If you’re in the area I definitely recommend giving them a try, as being so far away from the other ramen shops/entertainment district, there’s no crazy line out the door, which is always a plus in my books.

Ramen Isshin Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

