Blacksmiths Bistro

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We ventured here for my birthday dinner on a Sunday night, and found it relatively quiet. The interior is rather dark but the decor is cozy and comfortable, and I really liked the different levels and layout of the restaurant.

Blacksmiths Bistro
Location: 166 Main St (Unionville)
Markham, ON
L3R 2G9
Phone: (905) 305-0503
Price: $$$
Atmosphere: Dim and cozy
Service: Friendly

We ordered a soup ($7) and the spicy salmon tartar ($14) to start. The salmon tartar was placed atop a bed of avocados, and was delicious and fresh, though I did not find it in the least spicy. The crusts of bread it was served with were as crunchy as croutons, and while I enjoyed that, it did not make eating it a very tidy endeavor.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Spicy salmon tartar ($14)

For mains, I ordered the marinated flat iron steak ($27), which came in a sizzling cast iron pan. It came pre-sliced with roasted potatoes, jalapenos, bacon, carrots and string beans. While I did think being sliced and on a hot pan made the medium rare steak a little overdone in parts, it was still delicious. The dish was a bit heavy handed and after awhile, I found myself constantly reaching for my water glass.

The chicken fusilli ($22) was also delicious, but the linguine pesto ($20) was a bit of a disappointment. While the fusilli was creamy and flavourful, the linguine lacked seasoning and was rather watery.

As it was my birthday dinner, the waiter brought me a piece of their tiramisu. While not being one of the biggest fans of tiramisu due to my non-love of coffee, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it comprised of moist cake and cream and was probably one of the best ones I’ve had.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Tiramisu on the house

Overall, I had a lovely dinner at Blacksmiths Bistro and I would recommend for any special occasion dinner.

Blacksmiths Bistro Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

