Sweet Potato Latte

Last night I ventured to Koreatown and warmed my soul with a sweet potato latte. Intrigued, I wanted to try to make one myself.

PC113133-01-01.jpeg

Apparently my friends said that cafe sometimes served purple sweet potato latte, but last night we only had yellow. Sadly I was unable to locate a purple sweet potato at the grocery store, so I proceeded with a yellow flesh one.

PC113087-01-01.jpeg

You will need:

  • 1 small sweet potato, any colour
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/2 tbsp of maple syrup
  • Any toppings you desire

I began by steaming the sweet potato with the skin – I don’t know why but I always think it will taste better with than without – until it can be poked through. After peeling, I mashed it with a fork before blending it with 3/4 cup of milk. I left some of the potato unblended because I wanted some bites of potato in mine but feel free to blend it all.

PC113109-01.jpeg

Transfer the mixture to a small saucepan on low heat, and add the maple syrup. To avoid scorching the milk, make sure to stir constantly until the mixture begins steaming. Pour the liquid into a heat-safe cup and froth the remaining milk (or just shake vehemently if you don’t have a frother like me) and add it to the cup. You can drink it right away or add toppings such as a sprinkle of cinnamon or matcha for some taste and colour.

PC113114-01.jpeg

Adaptions: I think roasting the sweet potato might bring out more flavours and add more natural sweetness. I’ll definitely try different ways of preparing it next time!

Leave a Reply

