Neo Coffee Bar

IMG_20170317_133746-01.jpeg

I was in search of a place for to work for a few hours, and decided to pop in to Neo Coffee Bar on a Friday afternoon.

Neo Coffee Bar
Location: 161 Frederick St, Unit 100
Toronto, ON
M5A 4P1
Hours: Monday to Friday: 7am to 8pm
Saturday and Sunday: 8am to 8pm
Price: $
Atmosphere: Popular study spot / meeting place
Service: Cordial

I ordered a London Fog (the typical first drink to judge quality) and decided to get a strawberry shortcake. I am not a fan of swiss roll cakes from bakeries, but after visiting Asia and having roll cakes with fluffy cream hugged by a soft, pillowy cake, I am more open to trying them when they fit the criteria.

The interior is very welcoming – it is clean and minimalistic yet has an warehouse-like vibe mixed with a Japanese tea house. Quite odd, but it works.

I did make the mistake of settling in at the bar-style seating; the cafe was near-empty at this point but it quickly filled up with others wanting to work, as well as people having meetings over coffee. It became extremely crowded at points, and the thin bar table just barely fits a small laptop, let alone your drink.

IMG_20170317_134925-01.jpeg

IMG_20170317_134027-01.jpeg

My latte came with an abundance of vanilla bean floating in with the milk; this was a first for me and definitely added to my excitement. Brewed with Sloane’s Heavenly Cream, it was light yet creamy, and the vanilla added a fresh spin on my favourite latte. It came in Acme

The strawberry shortcake was exactly what I look for in roll cakes; light cake with a generous whipped cream centre. It was very reminiscent of the ones that made me fall in love with roll cakes again. It paired nicely with a latte, and even though I was really full from lunch, it was a good afternoon pick-me-up that didn’t perpetuate my sleepiness.

I really liked Neo Coffee Bar regardless, and would love to come back to try more of their menu. Their matcha latte seems to be a popular choice, and is admittedly beautiful to look at but hard to master. I was pleasantly surprised with my drink of choice, reinvented when I thought I knew it in all its forms.

IMG_20170317_133928.jpg

NEO COFFEE BAR Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

