Japadog (Street Stall)

P8302167.JPG

Why does the west coast have superior hot dog stands?

Don’t get me wrong, I love the hot dog stands in Toronto, even in all their grimy condiments container glory. They make great snacks in a pinch, but I would definitely be more inclined to eat more street meat if Japadogs were in town.

I love their creations – ranging from spicy cheese terimayo to yakisoba to croquettes, I guarantee you it will be hard to find a dog like that here. If you aren’t feeling a crazy combo, you can opt for a plain dog from their seven sausage offerings, including one veggie dog.

I was actually not very hungry when we stumbled across one of their carts in Richmond, at the corner of New Westminster and No. 3 Rd. I decided to get the lightest one – the Oroshi, which featured grated radish with soy sauce. They were very generous with the radish, to the point where it overwhelmed the hot dog and I had to remove about half of it; but the resulting dog made for a great snack, with the radish helping to cleanse the palate. I chose Bratwurst for my sausage, and it was surprisingly lighter than expected with a nice bite.

See their menu here.

Japadog Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

