Gion Tsujiri

P8251355.JPG

We couldn’t go to Kyoto without a sampling of matcha; on the way up towards Kodaiji, we passed several shops selling matcha soft serve, but we were all too full to partake.

Gion Tsujiri
Location: 東山区 高台寺ねねの道 京・洛市「ねね」
Shimokawaracho, Higashiyama-ku
Kodaiji Nenenomichi, Kyoto 605-0825, Kyoto Prefecture
Hours: Friday to Wednesday: 11am to 6pm
Thursday: Closed
Price¢
Atmosphere: Stall with limited seating
Service: Serviceable

About halfway through our journey up, it began to rain in earnest, and we sought shelter in this little garden, that happened to be home to a Gion Tsujiri. Hoping to have a seat indoors, we ordered ice cream before being told only dine-in customers could sit down.

P8251352.JPG

We took our ice creams and sought as much shelter as possible under the trees. I soon forgot my rainy day woes, as I had my first nibble of ice cream.

Smooth, creamy, and with a healthy dose of bittersweet matcha, this remains the single most delicious matcha ice cream I have ever had the pleasure of eating. I highly, highly recommend trying it here; the one back home cannot hold a candle to this.

P8251358.JPG

Leave a comment