Spotlight: Laura Secord SuperKid

Now that the weather is heating up, the thought of ice cream might be on the table again. Here is my all-time favourite flavour, both for its nostalgic memories and national pride, Laura Secord’s SuperKid.

Laura Secord SuperKid
Laura Secord SuperKid

Ever since I can remember, I used to beg my mom for a cone every time we passed the Laura Secord at our local mall (sadly, a revamp of the mall has pushed it out, which makes the accessibility another factor in obtaining this ice cream). I mean, what kid could resist? Bright, almost neon colours and a fruity flavour, it was a perfect mix of creaminess without the heaviness of conventional flavours such as chocolate. 

DSC00575
Free Laura Secord chocolate for all ice creams

If you are not familiar with the namesake, Laura Secord, she is a Canadian heroine during the War of 1812. The company was founded in 1913, and recently celebrated their 100 years of business. Though the Laura Secord is known mostly for their chocolates, I definitely think their shining star are their ice creams. There hasn’t been a flavour I disliked, but I can’t order ice cream without at least one scoop of SuperKid.

Can we just take a moment to appreciate these amazing colours?

Neon colours = a child's delight
Neon colours = a child’s delight

If you ever see this flavour, I would definitely recommend giving it a try (they offer tasters if you’re unsure!). There is definitely nothing like it in all the ice creams I’ve tried, and its a refreshing fruity option for those who might not want a heavy treat.

Rarely will you see it this perfectly separated
Rarely it is this perfectly separated, but delicious nonetheless

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spotlight: Laura Secord SuperKid

    1. Back in the day, they used to sell the huge tubs of it! Not sure if that is still a thing, but that would be enough Superkid for an ice cream party 😆

Leave a comment