Spotlight: O’Sulloc Tea Milk Spread

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During our first trip to Seoul, my friends and I spent way too much time and money at our local OSULLOC. Our favourite location by where we lived in Dongdaemun has since closed, so we made the trek over to another OSULLOC before we left Seoul.

I had sampled the roasted green tea (hojicha) spread during my last visit, and seeing as they had a deal if you bought two jars, I ended up buying both the original green tea and roasted tea spread. I also bought a lot of tea… so much so that they included a few non-consumable freebies with my purchase.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The consistency of the hojicha spread is decidedly thicker than the original, and the taste of the tea is more muddled. The tea spread does not separate like the green tea does (slightly), perhaps due to its viscosity. Oddly enough, it seems less sweet than the green tea spread, but matched well with denser breads.

P9170075.JPG

P9170080.JPG

The original green tea spread is much more spreadable, with a very shiny, glossy top. There appears to be small granules throughout compared to the hojicha, but they are undetectable to the palate. I love the vibrant green of this spread, and while quite sweet, it matches well with soft, pillowy breads and freshly baked scones.

P9170084.JPG

I love OSULLOC spreads and I hope they do another in the future (jeju tangerine oolong!); I’ll be sure to give them a try.

Leave a comment