Mugwort Cake

I have been diligently trying (and recording) new recipes, but my computer has decided to continuously break down, so editing has been out of the question. I’ve commandeered use of another computer to quickly edit a cake I made recently.

Mugwort has been catching my eye over the last year, and during one of my treks to the specialty grocery store, I was able to locate it. I then proceeded to make the journey over again to stock up after making this cake, because I enjoyed it greatly.

Despite its dense crumb, this cake is soft and fluffy, and pairs well with a creamy and fruity topping. With an earthier taste than matcha, I look forward to experimenting more with mugwort.

Mugwort Cake
Recipe from HANSE

85g unsalted butter, room temperature
60g white sugar
1 egg
2ml vanilla extract
70g cake flour
1g baking powder
1g baking soda
7g mugwort powder
40g milk

Roasted Soy Bean Cream

30g whipping cream
10g roasted soy bean powder
200g whipping cream
20g sugar

Cream the butter together until it is light and fluffy. Add sugar and mix until smooth. Add the egg and vanilla, and mix well. Sift the cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, and mugwort powder. Fold in the dry ingredients with a spatula. Add milk and mix until combined.

Line the bottom of a 6″ (15cm) pan with parchment, and oil the sides well. Pour the batter into the pan, tap a couple of times to get rid of large air bubbles, and smooth the top down with a spatula.

Place into a 170C/340F oven for 20-25 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Leave to cool.

Meanwhile, prepare the cream. Sift 10g of roasted soy bean powder into 30g of whipping cream, and mix until combined. Add the remaining whipping cream and sugar, and mix until stiff peaks.

Once the cake has cooled, serve with the fresh cream and fresh fruit. Enjoy!

Leave a comment