Sausage Breakfast Sandwich

English bangers and undressed cabbage

I didn’t write about this yet in the extremely backlogged posts of my last trip to Seoul… but I finally tried Isaac Toast before my flight home, and I was not disappointed.

While recreating Isaac Toast properly at home has yet to happen due to my reluctance to make the kiwi sauce as of yet, I took inspiration from a recent offering they had featuring sausages.

Ingredients

  • two slices of bread
  • 3 breakfast sausages (or sausage of your choice)
  • shredded cabbage
  • 1 egg
  • cheese
  • microgreens (optional)
  • pickles (optional)
  • kewpie mayo
  • mustard
  • honey
  • black pepper
The test version

Shred cabbage thinly, rinse, and set aside. If adding sauce, mix in mayo, mustard, honey, and black pepper. Make sure to drain before adding to sandwich to avoid leakage.

Cook the sausages until fully-cooked and browned.

Crack one egg over medium heat and shape to match the bread. I like to break the yolk because otherwise it runs all over the place when eating. Top with cheese and allow it to melt.

Assembly time! Place one slice of bread on parchment and add sauces of choice – I usually go for mayo, mustard, honey, and black pepper mix. If the cabbage wasn’t dressed, then add sauce generously on both slices of bread.

Layer egg and cheese, then sausages, and cabbage. Add pickles and microgreens last if using. Finish with the second slice of bread.

Wrap the parchment well and seal with tape to hold it together. Slice down the middle, making sure you get the cross section of the sausages, or they’ll slide out of the sandwich while eating.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment