The Alley

IMG_20170516_163725-01.jpeg
Royal No. 9 & Uji Matcha

I was a bit surprised when I realized I never wrote anything about The Alley – known as Diagon Alley elsewhere in the world, they opened up last summer in the Commerce Gate Plaza, and has just opened a new location on Main Street Unionville.

The Alley
Location: 505 Highway 7 E
Thornhill, ON
L3T 7T1 
Hours: Sunday to Thursday: 11:30am to 11:30pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:30am to 1am
Price¢
Atmosphere: Small and dark
Service: Friendly

The first time we came to The Alley, we were offered samples of their Royal No. 9 and instantly loved it. The black tea used is roasted with blueberries and despite my usual dislike of fruity teas, this one really works. I do not recommend this drink without sugar though, it needs at least 30% to bring out the flavours of the tea.

They definitely brought very creative teas to the table, and their popular choices include their Jelly Trio which feature a mixture of colourful jelly, their Garden Milk Tea with its Oreo crumbs and dinky mint leaf, and many more.

IMG_20170617_155139_441.jpg
Tieguanyin milk tea & Royal No. 9

At their Thornhill location, they offer Deerioca on Friday and Saturday nights starting at 8pm. Their homemade version of tapioca, Deerioca is a bit more chewy and reminds me of mochi more than tapioca. While I enjoyed their black sesame Deerioca, I wasn’t a fan of the chocolate one nor the accompanying drink. The price is a bit steep, but worth a try – but be warned, it usually sells out quickly.

While I like their other offerings, I usually default to their No. 9 or their Iron Goddess milk tea (tieguanyin), which is my all-time favourite tea. Tieguanyin milk tea is usually a milky disappointment in many bubble tea shops, but the Alley has a strong tea base that doesn’t disappoint. Between them and Kung Fu Tea Shop, they are my favourite places for tieguanyin.

So I’m super happy they opened a new location in Markham , and now we won’t have to make the drive along the neverending construction that is Highway 7!

The Alley Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
The Alley Unionville  Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

1 thought on “The Alley

Leave a comment