Simple Delights in Lamma Island

PA190132.JPG

One of the most wonderful things about Hong Kong is the diversity of the landscape. If you ever tire of the steel and glass of the city, you can escape to the mountains or hop on a ferry to one of the many outlying islands. 

I spent one afternoon with my mom on Lamma Island, and we walked from Sok Kwu Wan to Yung Shue Wan. We assumed there would be some food to eat along the way, but when we landed in Sok Kwu Wan, it was full of seafood restaurants, and we decided to keep walking.

We came across a stand with a huge sign promoting their mango mochi; at 20 HKD for two sizeable ones, we decided to fill our stomach with something for fear there might not be food for awhile (there wasn’t). The mochi was freshly made with very ripe, sweet mangoes. I was so tempted to get more, and when another group came by and passed up on the mochi, I was on the verge of calling them back. You are making a grave mistake.

PA192691.JPG

PA192698.JPG

We arrived at Hung Ye Shing Beach, and being a weekday, most of the food vendors were closed.  There was one store open that sold icy treats, so I got a Frutips popsicle.

As we passed the beach, we found ourselves under the shade of a dai pai dong advertising their dao fu fah, but we were in the mood for something to take the spot of our missing lunch. I saw the board advertising their beef brisket noodle for 50 HKD, and I decided to just share one as we had dinner plans in a couple hours. This would be my grave mistake.

PA190075.JPG

PA190080.JPG

Do you ever get the feeling that a dish will be good or not before you even try it? It doesn’t happen with most dishes, but when this bowl of noodles arrived, I could tell it was not going to disappoint. I was even more excited when green noodles made with spinach appeared when we dug into it. The noodles were the perfect texture, the broth flavourful, and the brisket tender. I know I said we would share, but with her permission, I definitely ate at least 75% of this bowl. Sorry, mom.

You might say we were just hungry, and we definitely were – but a few days later, while hiking, all I could think about was this bowl of noodles. I’m still thinking about it as I write about it again…

PA190151.JPG

As we arrived at Yung Shue Wan, I spotted a bakery, and intrigued, went up and bought the green sponge cake, which turned out to be pandan-flavoured. My mom saw a bag of shrimp chips, and these are definitely superior to the colourful kind you can find in supermarkets.

PA190155.JPG

We didn’t eat anything grand, but the memory of this afternoon stayed with me. Also, one of my fears came true as the wind blew my hat off my head, but undeterred, I climbed into the ravine to fetch it. My mom decided to video this moment as a show of support, so that will always exist.

Leave a comment