Dutch Baby

One of the best things about my cast iron pan is its versatility. Though some may eschew the process needed to clean and season cast iron cookware, I find once you’ve got the routine down pat, it isn’t much more work than regular cookware upkeep, and can potentially last forever. An added bonus is its ability to make the fluffiest, billowiest Dutch babies for brunch.

I made my first Dutch baby a few moons ago, and hadn’t really thought about them until after recently stumbling past my old photos, and decided to try it again for brunch. 

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 40g of flour
  • 10g of white sugar
  • 80ml of milk
  • pinch of salt
  • oven safe pan/dish (I used an 9″ cast iron skillet)

Place your ovenproof vessel into the oven, and preheat to 220C/425F. 

While the oven preheats, whisk the eggs. Add the flour, sugar, milk, and salt and mix until smooth.

Once the oven has finished preheating, I like to wait an additional 5-10 minutes before taking the pan out. Add the cold butter to the pan and make sure if covers the entire surface. Pour the batter into the pan and place back into the oven. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the middle is lightly golden brown. I start checking around the 10 minute mark, and usually hit the perfect colour around 12-14 minutes.

Serve immediately, and top with maple syrup, powdered sugar, squeeze of lemon, fresh fruit, fruit compote, or whatever floats your boat.

Fills one fully, two moderately. 

Enjoy!

Leave a comment