Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

One of my favourite treats in university was the lemon poppy seed loaf from Second Cup. I did not have most of the ingredients or time during my student life to recreate it, but tried my hand at making my own shortly after.

My favourite recipe is definitely from Smitten Kitchen ; yogurt, lemon zest, and a long baking time creates a perfectly moist, crumb-y loaf with a crisp exterior. My only complaint is about the glaze – it has not worked out for me, so instead, I made the icing similar to the original Second Cup one, but flavoured with lemon juice.

Recipe from Smitten Kitchen

  • 190g all purpose flour
  • 10g baking powder
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 230g plain yogurt
  • 215g white sugar
  • 100g eggs
  • 2tsp lemon zest
  • 0.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 120ml vegetable oil
  • 1/3-1/2 cup poppy seeds

Glaze

  • lemon juice
  • powdered sugar

Mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, add yogurt, sugar, eggs, lemon zest, vanilla extract, and vegetable oil. Whisk together until smooth. Add the dry ingredients in batches and mix until smooth. Fold in the poppy seeds until evenly distributed.

Bake in a preheated oven at 180C/350F for 1 hour+ until the centre is set. Let it cool.

Mix together one part lemon juice to three parts powdered sugar, adjust to reach desired consistency. Pour over the loaf and let is set.

Enjoy!

1 thought on “Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

Leave a comment