Simplifying Thai Iced Tea

P9252608.JPG

Almost five years ago, I started writing down notes on how to make my own Thai iced tea… only to get completely and utterly stuck. The exact mix of ingredients for making your own Thai tea mix varies widely, and many of them are not easily tracked down in my part of the world. The pre-made leaves mix was also difficult to locate, so I relegated myself to ordering the drink at Thai restaurants.

Thankfully, QuirkyAesthetics (and her Thailand-visiting friend) came to my rescue, and I have finally had the chance to experiment with making my own Thai iced tea (ชาเย็น/Cha Yen).

You will need:

  • 4-6 tbsp of Thai tea mix, depending on strength of tea desired
  • A tablespoon (or to taste) of condensed milk
  • 2 cups of water
  • Ice cubes

Note: condensed milk can be swapped for other milk, or you can mix condensed milk with evaporated milk if you want it less sweet.

You can multiply (or divide) the recipe, but I feel wasteful boiling anything less than 2 cups at a time.

Bring water to a boil, add tea leaves and bubble for 3 minutes. Turn off the heat and leave to steep for 30 mins to an hour.

Strain tea leaves through fine strainer or coffee filter.

Mix in condensed milk and/or evaporated milk.

To create different designs, you can play around with how your pour your milk in. This recipe makes about 2 regular cups or one mega cup of Thai iced tea.

 

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment