Dalgona Coffee

P3233050-01.jpeg

Dalgona coffee has been making the rounds to the areas of the world affected by social distancing measures. Named after it’s similar taste and appearance to a popular street snack, this simple but interesting recipe uses easy-to-find ingredients to create a visually pleasing drink.

Regarding the use of instant coffee, I first attempted this with regular coffee beans in my french press, trying to brew a more concentrated cup. It failed to whip up well, but if you are able to brew a strong espresso, you can sub the instant coffee and hot water with 1:1 espresso and sugar.

If you prefer it to be less sweet, you could use less sugar but expect the mixture to not whip up as nicely, and the colour to be darker.

Others have also been using handheld frothers, whipping by hand, or shaking in a jar. While all are possible, an electric handheld mixer is by far the quickest method.

The simple recipe is 1:1:1 instant coffee, sugar, and hot water.

Whip up to desired consistency, and then top a glass of milk.

I prefer whipping to stiff peaks for a silkier, firmer mixture, while soft peaks is more reminiscent of whipped cream.

4 thoughts on “Dalgona Coffee

  1. Looking good!! The first time I tried it, I used Black Coffee and was whipping for a whole 35 minutes, it didn’t work! Later used Nescafe and the results were wonderful!

    1. I did the same! I tried with French press coffee and I ended up making a coffee syrup because I kept adding sugar in hopes it would whip up. Instant coffee took about 1 minute.

Leave a comment